The Permanent Secretary added that Ministry in the period under review issued approval to fifty-eight (58) private junior Secondary Schools and upgraded that of eight private Senior Secondary Schools and had successfully ensured the smooth operation of insurance scheme for the schools.

Penpushing further reports that, Rasheed noted that a total of 28 community based Secondary Schools were being absorbed by the State, and listed the schools to include Ikangba Comprehensive High School, Alagbe Model school, Community High School, Awotunde,  Muslim Community Grammar School, Oja Odan, Olambe Community High School, Ifo, Obada Grammar School, Igbokofi Community High School and Community High School, Olooji amongst others.

The Chairman, State Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM), Chief(Mrs) Olabosipo Ogunsan,  represented by the Director of Information, Kehinde Onasanya, said the agency had in the last three months,  paid a total of N3.56b as salaries to all teaching and non -teaching staff under the Commission.

Penpushing also reports that, in another development, the Assembly has directed the State Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, the Management of Tai-Solarin College of Education (TASCE) Omu-Ijebu and members of labour unions in the institution to appear before next Tuesday.

The Chairman of the House of Assembly Committee on Finance and Appropriation said the invitation became imperative so as to find a lasting solution to issues affecting the smooth operation of academic activities at the institution with a view to returning normal academic activities to the College.

Penpushing reports that, other agencies that had their budgets performance appraised before the lawmakers included the State Human Capital Development, Bureau of Tertiary Institutions, State Library Board, State Technical and Vocational Education Board.

Similarly, other institutions which also  defended their budget performance before the lawmakers include Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic, Ijebu-Igbo, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, Ogun State Polytechnic, Ipokia, Gateway (ICT) Polytechnic, Saapade, State College of Health Technology,  Ilese-Ijebu, Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED), Ijagun, as well as Gateway Industrial and Petro-Gas Institute, Oni


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button