The Governor noted that as a result of the unresolved issues, the fate of candidates and students of MAPOLY and their lecturers now hangs in a balance,adding that,worse still, academic activities have been disrupted.

Penpushing further reports that the release therefore,  ordered that Moshood Abiola Polytechnic(MAPOLY) should revert to status quo ante with full academic activities restored, while the committee determines the way forward for the new institutions.

Lush Arena

“As a responsible Government, we cannot fold our arms and allow the situation to continue. We cherish human capital development. This committee is therefore set up to holistically review the status, viability and sustainability of these newly established institutions”.

The statement added that the review committee is expected to recommend operational modalities for these institutions after interfacing with stakeholders in the education sector.

Penpushing also reports that, the committee headed by the former Vice Chancellor of Tai Solarin University of Education, Prof. Segun Awonusi, has the following terms of reference:  Ascertain the current operational status of Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology, Abeokuta and Ogun State Polytechnic. Ipokia; Identify issues and challenges related to the establishment and operations of the two institutions;, Determine the viability and sustainability of the institutions on a long term basis; and Identify any other issue(s) related to the objectives of the assignment; and, Make recommendations for the consideration of the Government.

Penpushing reports that,the other members of the committee are: Waheed Kadiri – fomer Rector of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta ,Joseph Odemuyiwa – season academic and  National President of Workplace Educators & Managers Association of Nigeria (WEMAN),  Biodun Oluseye a Chief Lecturer at the Federal Polytchnic Ilaro, Abeeb Wale Ajayi,  a seasoned lawyer and administrator, H.O. Ayoade is the National President of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Alumni Association and Waheed  Olanloye, Director Primary and tertiary education in the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology will serve as the committee’s secretary.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button