Election results: Adeleke, ‘dancing senator’ aborts Oyetola’s second term as governor of osun state

The Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the Governorship race of Osun State has been formally declared as the winner of the governorship election by the Independent National electoral Commission (INEC).

Penpushing reports that, the Chief Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Prof  Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, who announced the result Sunday morning said Adeleke  scored 403,371 votes to emerge victorious.

The  electoral umpire on the results announcement said runner-up , the incumbent governor, Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled 375,027 votes, while the record also has it that the other 13 candidates who took part in the election did not win in any local government.

Lush Arena

Penpushing further reports that, a total of 15 political parties took part in the election held on Saturday across the 30 local governments of Osun, while many observers described the election as free of violence but characterised by vote buying.

The Chief Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), declared that Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) having satisfied the requirement of the law  was  the winner and returned elected.

Penpushing also reports that   Adeleke, popularly called dancing senator, was quoted to have seen his victory in the latest election as a vindication that he was the original winner of the 2018 election, however would not be sworn in until November when the tenure of Oyetola will be over

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button