Yanju Uwala in Abeokuta

The initiator of the  Remo Secondary Schools Athletics Competition, which grand finale took place  on Wednesday, Falilat Ogunkoya-Omotayo said the project was a means of giving back to the grassroots and society, and motivating the young athletes  to do wonderfully well in the athletic sports.

Penpushing reports that, the former world sprinter also said, “there are plans to take the competition to other parts of the State, Ijebu-Ode, Egba, Yewa and also to the National level, adding that she was also looking as taking the competition to other State next year.

The world famous Nigerian sprinter  however, appreciated the first lady of Ogun State, Chief (Mrs) Bamidele Abiodun, for her assistance in all ramifications towards achievement of the competition and as well as  Kunle Soname, a football club owner in the State for his cooperation.

Penpushing further reports that, the grand finale had Yusuf Gbolahan and Taiwo Asimou, being declared as the best male and female athletes of the race competition, having won  in different races, of the competition, which was a three-day event, held at the Gateway International Stadium, Sagamu, Ogun State.

Similarly, the 100m race (Girls), had Taiwo Asimou from Mayflower Secondary School, Ikenne, the winner and Amarachi Friday, of Ilisan High School, Ilisan, Onafeko Oluwaseun of St. John’s Anglican School, Ode-Lemo, coming second and third respectively.

Penpushing also reports that, in the 100m race (Boys), Yusuf Gbolahan, of Remo Secondary, Sagamu, was declared winner, while Nasiru Sodiq of Ikenne Community High School, Ikenne and Oduwole Michael, of Remo Divisional High School, came second and third respectively.

The South-West Invitational Relay (Girls) had Brightville College, Ibadan, Ayodele Memorial College, Oyo and Fakunle Unity Government High School, Osogbo, won  the first, second and third positions, while on the male side, Brightville College Ibadan, Commercial Secondary School, Oyo and Ata-Oja Government High School, Osun, were the first, second and third.

Penpushing reports that for the 200m (Girls) race, Osho Seyi of Sagamu High School, Sagamu, was the first, Ogunsowo Mariam, of St. John’s Anglican School, Ode-lemo and Michael Nnena, of Ajagbe High School, being the second and third respectively.

The 200m Boys race has Yusuf Gbolahan of Remo Secondary School, Sagamu, Olaifa Glory of Mayflower School, Ikenne and Benson Opeyemi of Remo Secondary School,  Sagamu, coming first, second and third respectively.

Penpushing further reports that, the 400m (Girls) race competition, had Taiwo Asimou, as the first, while Soneye Rebecca of Mayflower School, Ikenne and Sotikare Kehinde of Sapade Grammar School, as the second and third.

However, for the Invitational 4 x 100 Mixed Relay Race, had Brightville College, Ibadan, has the first, while Akure Secondary Commercial School, Ondo and Fakunle Unity Government High School, Osogbo, the second and third.

Penpushing spoke with  with some of the race winners, and one of them Yusuf Gbolahan, said, “I am very glad to have been the winner, even though I don’t have the premonition of winning it before but all glory be to Almighty God”

The winner, 4x100m relay race, Oyenuga Lekan, in his own response said,, “it is my belief in God to have made me winner of the race, even among my co-competitors, and I also goes to different outings in which I have always being winning likewise”, adding  that he feel fine and great to have being the winner of the relay race.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button