Nigerian Police Service Commission compulsorily retires four Deputy Inspectors General of Police

The Police Service Commission(PSC) has compulsorily retired four Deputy Inspectors General of Police, a decision said to be in pursuant to the Third Schedule, Part 1 M, para A&B of the 1999 Constitution, reinforced with Section 6 of the Commissions (Establishment) Act 2001, para a, c, d, e, &f.”

Penpushing reports that a statement by the spokesperson of the Police Service Commission (PSC) Ikechukwu Ani said the affected Deputy Inspectors General of Police include Dan-Mallam Mohammed, Moses Jitiboh, Hafiz Inuwa and Adeleke Bode.

The statement added that the Police Service Commission (PSC), took the decision following the refusal of the officials to resign after the appointment of their junior, Kayode Egbetokun, as the new Inspector General of Police.

‘In the wake of the appointment of the acting Inspector General of Police, IGP Kayode Egbetokun on the 19th of June, 2023 by Mr. President, the Commission had expected in consonance with the revered tradition of discipline and regimented culture of the Nigeria Police Force that those DIGS who were seniors in rank prior to his elevation will voluntarily apply for retirement or elect to leave the Force’, the statement reads.

‘The Commission, having waited for ample time with no such application from any of them, took the decision to compulsorily retire them in order to uphold discipline which is the bedrock of the Force, and to discourage status reversal which is inherently inimical to the exercise of authority by the Inspector General’, Ani wrote

Penpushing further reports that in a related development the commission also approved the appointment of four Assistant Inspectors General of Police to the rank of Deputy Inspectors General of Police which would be subject to ratification by the Board of the Commission to replace the retired Deputy Inspectors General of Police

The statement added that the newly appointed affected Deputy Inspectors General of Police who are without Pending Disciplinary Matters and/or without any serious medical conditions and health impairments were drawn from the same respective geo-political regions of the retired ones.

Penpushing also reports that the newly appointed Deputy Inspectors General of Police include Ibrahim Sani Ka’oje; Daniel Sokari – Pedro, Ayuba Ekpeji, and Usman Nagogo, as the commission congratulated them for the elevation.

The commission in the statement said it hopes that their appointment will add value and greater vigour to the efforts of the Nigeria Police in delivering on its mandate having attained   the enviable rank of Deputy Inspectors General of Police

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button