Information Commissioner begs Ogun State Journalists to bury hatchet over differences

The Ogun State Commissioner for information and Strategy, Alhaji Waheed Odusile has called on journalists in the State to bury hatchet over their differences to pave way for conducive atmosphere for their benefits and the state at large.

Penpushing reports that, Odusile made the appeal while hosting members of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) to a dinner held at Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library (OOPL),in Abeokuta, the State Capital.

The former President of the union emphasized need for the journalists to remain united to enable him work with them, and convinced his principal about exististing genuine love within the membership, stressing that he was not ready to take side, but work with a united family.

Penpushing further reports that, Odusile assured that he would fight their (journalists) course within the limit of his office, when unity becomes the order of the day, stressing that he has no allegiance to no other person except the Governor and journalists..

“I have no allegiance to anybody order than the governor and journalists. I need your support and that support is let us be united. I will fight your course within the limit of our finances provided you are united’, he stressed.

The commissioner appealed to the journalists to project the good image Governor Dapo Abiodun’s government and let his achievements be known to the world stressing, “please tell the world the good works that Dapo Abiodun is doing in the state. If you can do this, I will also tell him to reciprocate. ”

“In journalism the only commodity we deal with is fact so let’s publish truth and not what will set the country on fire. If you destroy Nigeria with bad news nobody will call you a Nigerian journalist again. Let’s be truthful and tell the news the way it is. All I want from you is to help me in propagating the good work of Dapo Abiodun’, he emphasised.

Penpushing also reports that, notable media managers at the event include: Dimeji Kayode-Adedeji(founder Penpushing media),Funmi Wakama(General Manager, Nigerian Television Authority, Abeokuta),Festus Kehinde(General Manager, Ogun State Television), Abiodun Awere(Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information),Kunle Somorin(Chief Press Secretary to the Governor), Toyin Sogbesan(General Manager,Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation),Yinka Ogundimu(Senior Special Adviser  to Governor on Electronic Media),Kayode Akinmade(Consultant to Governor on Media) and Waheed Adesina (Director, Ministry of Information.

The others are: Mrs Omolola Adeyinka(Chairman, Caretaker Committee, Nigeria Union of Journalists), Wole Shokunbi(former Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists), Niyi Ogungbola(former Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists),Tunde Sodeke(former Chairman,Nigeria Union of Journalists),Wale Oluokun(Secretary, Caretaker Committee Nigeria Union of Journalists) Folake Ade-Adeniji (former Vice President, B-Zone, National Association of Women Journalists),Dupe Sobukola(Chairperson, National Association of Women Journalists), Adedoyin Lasisi(head of Reportorial Unit, News Division Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation), Seyi Oladimeji(Assistant General Manager, News, Ogun State Television) and Lekan Osiade(Special Assistant on Information)

Penpushing reports that, the list include: Hakeem Akintunde(Chairman, Sports Writers Association of Nigeria), Rasaq Ayinla, Chairman Correspondents Chapel),Wale Olanrewaju(Chairman, Information Chapel), Abiodun Ogundipe( former Chairman Ogun Radio Chapel) and Biodun Alabi(former Chairman, Sports Writers Association of Nigeria) among others

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button