Governor Abiodun submits list of nominees for state electoral commission to assembly

The Ogun State Governor,  Dapo Abiodun has submitted the list of nominees for the composition of the State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) for screening, ratification and subsequent approval by the State House of Assembly.

Penpushing reports that. Speaker of the Assembly, Rt Hon Olakunle Oluomo,made this known on Tuesday when he read the Governor’s letter dated 19th February, 2021 before other lawmakers during a plenary session at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

The Speaker noted that the request was in furtherance of  Abiodun’s administration’s desire to improve the quality of service delivery to the people, adding that the letter stated, “in furtherance of our desire to improve the quality of service delivery to the good people of Ogun State, Mr. Speaker, please find attached the list and curriculum vitae of nominees for the post of Chairman and members of the State Independent Electoral Service Commission for your consideration”

 Penpushing further reports that, Oluomo  reeled  out the names of the nominees as include;Hon  Babatunde Adetona Osibodu (Chairman), Olatunji Isaac Akoni, Tajudeen Soyeolu Omoloja, Ayodele Bankole and Mrs. Gbemi Onasanya as member-designates.

The Speaker thereafter directed the nominees to appear before the lawmakers for screening on Thursday, 25th February, 2021 with 30 copies each of their Curriculum Vitae and Photocopies of their Credentials with the originals at the Conference Room 215 of Assembly Complex in Oke- Mosan, Abeokuta at 2:00pm prompt.

Penpushing also reports that,it is recalled that the lawmakers had at the previous session extended the tenure of the 20 Local Government Transition Committees for another period of three months, with a call on the  Governor to immediately ensure the composition of the  electoral body to allow it upon the Assembly’s approval and subsequent inauguration, prepare for the smooth conduct of election into elective positions in the local government councils.

Meanwhile, in another development, three bills including the “Ogun State Administration of Physical Planning, Urban Development, Slum Regeneration and Building Production Management Law, 2021, the Ogun State Residents Registration Agency and the Registration of Ogun State Residents Law, 2021” as well as the “Ogun State Law Reform Commission Law, 2021″scaled first reading on the floor of the House as the Clerk / Head of Legislative Service, Mr. ‘Deji Adeyemo read them before the lawmakers.

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button