The Governor while speaking immediately after the inauguration of the polytechnic governing council, which took place at the Governor’s Office Conference Hall, Amosun charged the Council, chaired by Ambassador Adesola Isiaka Abolurin, to keep the flag flying and be up to the task.

 “Our administration knows the importance of education and that is why when we came on board, we took it as priority and we made it free at the primary and secondary sector, while we subsidized our tertiary education”.

Penpushing further reports that, the Governor while speaking on the composition of the council noted that the members have been found worthy and that was why they have been appointed as the pioneer Governing Council, to see to the affairs of the institution.

The Chairman of the Council, Ambassador Abolurin in his remark promised to bring on board expertise and great knowledge for effective running of the institution, and also pledged the council’s loyalty to achieve the set goal, calling on all stakeholders to join hands to strengthen the institution to become a great citadel of knowledge.

Penpushing also reports that, the Rector of the Polytechnic, Dr Samson Odedina, while speaking with journalists assured that the leadership of the institution was ready for smooth take off. The members of the council include; Prof. Olurin Kayode, Mr. Adegbite Idowu, Mr. Idowu Olaoluwa, Mrs. Moji Bobade, Mr. Akin Orebiyi,  Dr. Odedeji Adeoye, Mr. Ogunsipe Phillips, Mr. David Aninkan, Mr. Emmanuel Adeleye and Mr. Olatunbosun Ayoade.

However, in a related development, and towards the actualization and immediate take off of the Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology (MAUSTECH), Abeokuta, the Governor has approved the appointment of Prof.  Akinwale Oladotun Coker, a Professor of Civil Engineering, as the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of the newly established institution.

The Secretary to the State Government, Barrister Taiwo Adeoluwa, who made the announcement in a Press Statement explained that this was in accordance with Section 8 of the Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Law, 2017.

Penpushing reports that, the statement added that government also approved the constitution of a Governing Council for the institution, with Mr Oye Hassan Odukale, as Pro Chancellor/Chairman,while other  members of the Council are; Mrs. Bunmi Oke, Prof. John Oluranti Olajide, Chief Wale Taiwo (SAN), Mr. Oladeji Oluwadiya, Dapo Adesega,  Ibukun Sonola, Ms. Amina Oyagbola and Engr  Segun Adeleye.

The statement added that, the tenure of the Council Chairman and members would be 4 years in the first instance, while that of the Vice-Chancellor would be a single term of 5 years.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button