Metro Plus

Non-Governmental Organisation gives grant to vulnerables in Ogun state

A Non-Governmental Organisation, Women, Infants and Children Care Initiative (WICCI), has granted business grants to twenty-four vulnerable households said to be victims of contemporary forms of slavery in Abeokuta, Ogun State Capital.

Penpushing reports that Executive Director, of the organisation Mrs. Doyinsola Adebayo explained that the gestures was in partnership with United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights in an efforts to stop modern day slavery.

The Director, Mrs. Doyinsola Adebayo said the benefits were specifically targeted at trafficked  persons, Child labour, child marriage and domestic violence victims, adding that they were equally supported with medical care, hygiene kits, business management skills training workshop and presentation of start-up tools under WICCI/UNVTFCFS/OGUN2022 project.

Lush Arena

‘The twenty-four beneficiaries were economically empowered with start-up tools to start their own choice of businesses such as: tailoring, hairdressing, vulcanizing, vehicle rewiring, Gas refilling, vehicle mechanical work, battery charging and frozen foods and drinks’, she said.

Penpushing further reports that, Adebayo emphasized that the beneficiaries were majorly Beninese adolescent boys and girls who were trafficked into the country from Benin Republic, adding that  other target groups were selected from the three local government areas in the state.

The Executive Director of the Ogun State based organization, said the ceremony was declared open by the Permanent Secretary, Ogun State Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development, Mrs. Ogunremi.

Penpushing also reports that, Ogunremi in her goodwill message, encouraged well-meaning citizens and like-minded people and organisation to support the government to stop slavery-like practices in Nigeria.

The Board of Trustees of Women, Infants and Children Care Initiative (WICCI), stakeholders and partners present at the occasion were: Prof. Mrs. Comfort Sodiya, Mrs. Olufunmilola  Shonoiki, Prof. Gboyega Adebayo and Dr.(Mrs). Oludolapo Akisanya;

Penpushing reports that others at the ceremony are Mrs.Nike Ajala, Prince Taiwo Adesina, Alhaji Ajagunjeun, Prince Ademola,  Alhaji. Sanyaolu, Mrs. Balogun, Ms. Margret Adeleke and Mrs. Taiwo Adebanjo

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button