Metro Plus

Nigerian women journalists elect new leaders

The Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ) has elected Ladi Bala as the new National President, having polled 439 votes to beat Aishat Ibrahim who scored 251 votes and Chindaba Danjuma who recorded 85 votes, as well as Ruth Abubakar scoring 48 votes

Penpushing reports that, the keenly contested election took place on Saturday at Minna, Niger State Capital, with delegates across the federation in attendance, where other national officers were also elected.

The other members of the executive include Deputy Vice President Lilian Ogbano, Secretary Helen Udofia, Assistant Secretary Yinka Bode-Are, Treasurer Fatima Rasheed, Internal Auditor Dorothy Abellaga and Financial Secretary Adeola Adekunle, while Omobola Akingbehin, also emerged as the Vice President ‘B’ Zone of NAWOJ. .

Penpushing further reports that, the newly elected President, who takes over from immediate past President, Ify Omowale, in her acceptance speech  thanked God Almighty for the victory while calling on all members to ”mend fences and close gaps” now  that the elections were over

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button