Governor Makinde wins second term election

The Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been re-elected for another term in office, having won the Saturday Governorship election in the State, as announced by the electoral umpire.

Penpushing reports that the announcement was made on Sunday by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), stating that Makinde won in 31 local government areas of the state with a total of 563,756 votes

The State Collation Officer, Prof Adebayo Bamire who is the Vice Chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife said the closest opponent Senator Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), won in two local government areas with 256,685 votes.

Penpushing further reports that the collation officer explained that Governorship candidate of the Accord Party (AP), Adebayo Adelabu, came third in the contest with a total of 38,357 votes, adding that said a total of 14,920 votes were rejected of the 889,592 votes cast.

The Vice-Chancellor announced Governor Makinde, a candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the election having met the conditions set for the election by Nigerian laws, adding that a total of 14,920 votes were rejected of the 889,592 votes cast.

Penpushing also reports that the final results of the election stated the votes of the parties as: A: 38,357, AA 387, AAC 524, ADC 2407,ADP 2514, APC 256,685, APGA 627, APM 303, APP 1513, BP 101,LP 1500,NNPP 964,NRM 1709, PDP 563,756, SDP 2834 and YPP 493

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button