Governor Eno re-appoints predecessor’s cabinet members as commissioners

The Akwa Ibom State Governor, Umo Eno, has sworn in 23 new commissioners and a special adviser to assist in the implementation of his ambitious economic blueprints, “Arise Agenda”, many of them had served in the cabinet of the immediate past Governor Udom Emmanuel.

Penpushing reports that the Governor at the swearing-in ceremony, held at Government House in Uyo, on Thursday defended the reappointment of all the commissioners who served under his predecessor, describing them as his colleagues.

The Governor was commissioner for Lands and Water Resources under the administration of his predecessor, former Governor Udom Emmanuel before he resigned to contest the Governorship election.

Lush Arena

Penpushing further reports that the Governor at the ceremony told the new appointees that they already have a well-condensed roadmap to guide them in the execution of the responsibilities of their different offices.

The Governor while justifying his action to return members of the cabinet of the former Governor explained that they were his “foot soldiers that have to be rewarded, adding that besides being tested, they possessed vast experience to deliver his economic blueprint.

“You do not abandon your foot soldiers shortly after a successful execution of an election victory. As old blood, we were together in all of the campaigns. A lot of you took bullets for me, a lot of you stood up for me when no one believed I could ever emerge, spent several nights strategising for me. My conscience would not allow me to throw you away’, he said.

‘Therefore, it is only fitting that we bring back tested hands with the right experience who understands the system to join us and work for the continuation of peace, growth and transformation of our state in line with the Arise Agenda’, he added.

Penpushing also reports that Governor announced the creation of the Ministry of Internal and Waterways Security explaining that the new ministry is to collaborate with security agencies to ensure peace and harmony in the state.

The Governor directed that all other smaller security groups that feature at government functions would henceforth be trained and coordinated by the new ministry, and shortly after the ceremony the Secretary to the State Government in a statement released portfolios of the commissioners

Penpushing further reports that those who are to resume work in their former ministries include, Eno Ibanga – Works and Fire Service, Ini Ememobong – Information; Uko Udom – Justice and Attorney General; Monday Uko – Youth and Sport; Linus Nkan – Finance; Iniobong Ekong – Lands; Bassey Okon – Special Duties and Ibom Deep Seaport; Imo Moffat – Ministry of Science and Technology; Augustine Umoh – Health; Frank Archibong – Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

The others are, Ini Adiakpan – Women Affairs and Social Welfare; Idongesit Etiebet – Education; Raphael Bassey – Housing; Bob Emem – Economic Development; Aniefiok Nkom – Labour and Manpower Planning; Offiong Offor – Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development.

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button