Buhari appoints seven new ministers

The Nigeria’s President, Muhammadu Buhari has appointed seven new ministers, who are to replace those Ministers that have resigned from his cabinet to contest for other political offices in the country ahead of the next political dispensation

Penpushing reports that, the President wrote the Senate seeking confirmation of the nominated ministers, while the letter was on Tuesday at the plenary read out by the Senate President, Senator Ahmad Lawan.

The new Ministers include  Henry Ikechukwu (Abia State), Umana Umana (Akwa Ibom State), Ekuma Joseph(Ebonyi State), Goodluck Obia( Imo State). Umar Yakub(Kano state), Ademola Adegorioye(Ondo State) and Odo Udi(Rivers State).

Penpushing further reports that, it is recalled that some Ministers who resigned are Rotimi Amaechi, Godswill Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu and Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba who contested for the presidential primary.

The others are Uche Ogar who contested and won the fractional Abia State governorship primary as well as Tayo Alasoadura who contested and lost the All Progressives Congress (APC) senatorial primary held recently.

Penpushing also reports that, the new Ministers will be screened on another legislative day, while it recalled that the former Ministers had resigned in accordance with the provisions of Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act ,

The electoral act explained that, no political appointee at any level shall be a voting delegate or be voted for at the convention or congress of any political party for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election.

FOOTNOTE: You want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service, or   event? Contact us on WhatsApp +2348073463653 or email [email protected]




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button