Obaseki clips Oshiomhole’s political wings, secures second term as Edo State Governor

The Edo State Governor Godwin Obaseki has clipped the political wings of his estranged political godfather, Adams Oshiomhole  following his victory for a second term in office, having defeated his main rival Osagie Ize-Iyamu, who was the choice candidate of the former National Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress(APC) in the Saturday poll.

Penpushing reports that, Obaseki who was edged out of securing All Progressives Congress (APC), and decamped to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), scored the highest number of votes after the poll and has been declared the winner.

The Chief Returning Officer, Johnson Alalibo while declaring the  result of the election, held in all the 18 local governments in the state,  declared  that Obaseki won with the highest votes and having satisfied the requirement of the law he was returned as the Governor-elect.

Penpushing further reports that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday in Benin, the state capital declared, “Godwin Obaseki of the PDP, having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner”

The result stated that,  Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat his main rival, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who had 223,619 votes, and also won in 13 of the 18 local government areas and thus scored more than 25 per cent of votes cast in two-thirds of the local governments in the state to satisfy the second constitutional requirement to be declared governor.

Penpushing also reports that, the Governor won his first election in 2016 as a candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and was then supported by Adams Oshiomhole, the immediate past Governor of the State who later became the National Chairman of the party..

The former National Chairman of the ruling partyt, in the course of Obaseki term as Governor parted ways with him, and teamed up with Ize-Iyamu, who contested under the platform of All Progressives Congress(APC) but lost in the Saturday poll.

 Penpushing reports that, Obaseki won in 13 local government areas, including his home Oredo local government area, established to be the largest, while Ize-Iyamu, on the other hand, won the remaining five local governments, including Oshiomole’s Etsako West.




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button