No more pension payment for former Governors, Speakers, others in Imo state, says Governor Uzodinma

The Imo State Government has abolished payment of pensions to former governors and speakers of the state, declaring that, it runs contrary to the 1999 constitution as amended, which stipulates that a pensioner must have worked for at least 10 years and must be up to 45 years of age.

Penpushing reports that, to effect the cancellation, Governor Hope Uzodinma on Friday assented to a bill repealing the law that created pension allowances and gratuities for former governors, deputy governors, assembly speakers and deputy speakers.

The Governor signing the bill into law  regretted a situation where some of the beneficiaries of such payments also get huge amount of money as salaries and allowances in other positions they occupied such as serving as senators or members of the House of Representatives.

“Apart from the inconsistency of such a law to the provisions of the ground norm, which is the Constitution of 1999 (as amended), this has led for a very long time a precedence that does not encourage diligence and prudence in service delivery,” he said.

Penpushing further reports that, Uzodinma appreciated the State House of Assembly for rising to the occasion and embracing totally the desire of government to strengthen the Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) base of the state.

The Governor equally assured the people of the state of his commitment and desire to grow an economy that will stand the test of time.

Penpushing also reports that, Speaker of the Imo House of Assembly,Rt Hon  Chiji Collins,in his remarks pointed out  that the House of Assembly presented two bills for the Governor’s assent, which include: the bill on Imo State University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences and bill on the Repeal of Pensions and Gratuity.

The Speaker noted  that the bill on pensions and gratuity has long been repealed in many states of the country when it was discovered to run contrary to the 1999 Constitution of the (as amended).

Penpushing reports that, those present at the signing of the bill into law include’; the Deputy Governor, Placid Njoku; the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly, Amara Iwuanyanwu; the Majority Leader, Uche Ogbuagu and other members of the House, as well as some members of the State’s expanded Executive Council.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button