Metro Plus

Nigerian women journalists decorate Iyalode Lawson Association Grand Patron

Eniola Lawson in Abeokuta

The Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ),Ogun State Chapter on Friday decorated the Iyalode of Yorubaland, Iyalode Alaba Lawson as the grand matron of the association

Penpushing reports that, the association executive led by the Chairperson, Modupeola Sobukola decorated the first female  President of the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines, and Agriculture (NACCIMA), when they paid her a courtesy visit in her office in Abeokuta, Ogun State Capital.

The Chairperson speaking at Lawson International School located in Kuto area of the town, venue of the ceremony said, Iyalode no doubt is a woman of substance who deserves recognition at all time, in view of her positive contributions to all human endeavours.

Penpushing further reports that, Sobukola expressed appreciations on Lawson’s support for the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), and its affiliated association, Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ) in the last three decades

‘We are here to visit you on recognition as great woman in the midst of women in Nigeria, we see you as a leader that worthy of emulation and also which to extends our gratitude to you for always being there whenever we call on you’, she stated.

Penpushing also reports that, the women journalists said they were proud to be associated with Lawson, and pledged that, they would equally appreciate engaging them in women activities at all available period.

The Iyalode in her response commended the association for democratically way of electing its officers, noting that, it was a welcome development that, positions were spread across all chapels of the association

Penpushing further reports that, she expressed appreciation on the honour bestowed on her, and promised the women journalists of regular support at all time, with a call on them to be up and doing towards upliftment and betterment of womenfolk.

The Iyalode pointed out that, the roles of women in nation building cannot be put aside, and advised the executive to be focused; stressing that any positions or organizations they found themselves their positive impact must be felt

Meanwhile other executive members at the ceremony include: Oluseyi Ajala (Vice Chairperson) Aminat Orunsolu(Gen Secretary), Morekeniji Sobaloju(Treasurer),  Bosede Akintunde(Financial Secretary), Adejoke Adeleye and Tope Ugbechie(Ex-Officio).


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button