Metro Plus

Ibadan polytechnic marks 50th years’ anniversary

Segun Showunmi in Ibadan

The Polytechnic, Ibadan, Ibadan, Oyo State on Friday marked 50th years founders’ day anniversary in a grandstyle, with a call on the students union body to allowed the Aluta Continua movement translate into peace and progress in the institution

Penpushing reports that the institution which was established on 7th of August, 1970 has since produced men of great influence in the former and informal sector of economy across the world.

The products of the institution include: Ooni of Ife, His Imperial Majesty, Oba Adeyeye, current Minister for Interior and former Governor of Osun State, Engr. Rauf Aregbesola, former Governor of Ogun State, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, Ex Governor Ayo Fayose, and Mrs Florence Ajimobi among others.

The Governing council chairman of the institution, Prof. Kunle Akinyemi in his speech noted that the institution was one of the best polytechnic in Nigeria, adding that the school was ranked very high among other polytechnics in the world.

Penpushing further reports that, Akinyemi added that the 50th years ceremony planning committee’s aim was to rebrand the institution in making sure it stands out among peers across Nigeria.

The chairman however thanked the Governor of the State, Engr. Seyi Makinde for his gestures for giving him an opportunity to serve as member of the council, saying that this has make his work as the council chairman so easy.

Penpushing also reports that, the Rector of the institution, Prof. Kazeem Adebiyi in his speech appreciated the Governing Council Chairman for making the celebration a success, adding that that was one of the achievements of the present administration in the state led by Governor Seyi Makinde.

The National President, Alumni Association of The Polytechnic, Ibadan, Prof. Akande Lawal decries the discrimination of Polytechnic graduates to University graduates in the labour market across the nation.

The Polytechnic, Ibadan is a great citadel of learning that birth the creation of many other Polytechnics which were formerly a satellite campuses of the institution – Adeseun Ogundoyin Polytechnic, Eruwa, Okeogun Polytechnic, Saki, Esa Oke Polytechnic, and Osun State Polytechnic, Iree were all carved out from the Polytechnic Ibadan.

Penpushing  reports that dignitaries at the event includes: former Majority leader of the House of Assembly, Hon. Taoheed Ayorinde,  Registrar of the institution, Mrs. Module Fawale, Deputy Registrars, Dean of Faculties, Directors, Head of Departments, Accountants, Student Union Representatives, Alumni members and other Academic and Non Academic staff.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button