Aftermath of protests: Edo State Police rearrested 10 prisons inmates, 116 hoodlums

The Edo State Police Command has re-arrested ten of the inmates who escaped from the Benin/Oko Correctional Centres during the breaking of the centres by suspected hoodlums in the wake of protests against police brutality

Penpushing reports that, the Commissioner of Police, Johnson Kokumo  made this known while parading number of suspects arrested for various offences during the protest, which include; burning down police stations, carting away arms and ammunitions, rape and killing of policemen among others.

The Command gave identities of the re-arrested inmates as include; Emmanuel Udoh, Friday Etim ,Victor Akpotor, Lucky Precious, Osarumen Enoragbon, Patrick Eguavoen,Abraham Matthew, Endurance Ifobuow,Mohammed Adamu and Henry Atadi

Penpushing further reports that, the command said it is pained by the havoc caused by the mobs and hoodlums, masquerading as protesters who were united by a common criminality, stressing that the stolen arms regrettably will be unleashed on the members of the public.

‘However, as the looting and destruction was taking place, the Police and other security agencies mustard their acts together and were able to arrest some of the arsonists, looters and escapees’, Kokumo said.

The Commissioner disclosed identities of the looters who were arrested at various locations as include; Blessing Ossai, Mary-Jane Okii, Muhammed Rabiu, Gabriel Ojo, Salisu Ajaaj, Fidelix Iyamu, Sunny Ariofolo, Adamu Abdullahi, Sale Lawal, Anthony Odinaka,  Alhaji Ahmed Sale, Christian Igbinosa,Aigbe John, Tonny Momodu, Iyawe Lucas, Igie Orobor, Jerrison Jonathan,Peter Anaka,  Johnson Momoh, Francis Akpoyomon, Abdul Ishaku, Ogbewe Enoma, Ali Sheriff, Oshogu Zekeri, Godwin Joseph, Idemudia Joshua, Balogun Ibrahim, Rosemary Asemota  and Blessed Doris-Dey

The other suspects are; Frank Solomon, Paul Osunde, David Idemudia, Godspower Christopher, Sunday Ige, Joseph Goddey, Emeka Ekwe, Joy Mbah, Sandra Smart,Joy Osarumwense, Candon Agwa, Faith Okidi, Glory Christian, David Ojo, Peter Anabike, Johnson Ugboja, Moma John, Osarugue Omorogbe, Obaretin Happy, Daniel Effiong,  Unans Destiny, Korosi Favour, Victor Raymond, James Obosa, Kehinde Idris and  Ik Steven Nwobodo

Penpushing also reports that the list contained; James Obaretin,Omweatu Goddey, John Ezugagha, Sunday Odia , Akinyemi Okpe, Eze Emmanuel, Stanley Victor,Bashiru Saheed, Joseph Lamidu, Lucky Ehidu, Abu Alasa, Sunday Effiong, Sunday Bright, Christopher Ariguta, Faith Dunu, Ruth Jatto,  Blessing Ogu, Happy Augustine, Faith Osemwenkhae, Ogbebor Vivian and John

The other suspects are: Esther Anofelegun ,Alibi Mariam, Abiodun Joy, Uwagboe Augustine,Ossai Victor, Okolie Emmanuel, Bright Ejiogu, Ezekiel Madu, Ogieva Osarenkhoe, Chibudu Allen, Friday Okeda, Ojo Nelson, Sunday Fadeyi, Kehinde Odeh,Adesola Sunday, Lucky Juliet, Osazee Emmanuel, Aigbogun Israel, Desmond Osemwegie, Blessed Ighodaro, Oviase Morgan, Osadolor Godwin,  Ogbewi Princess, Helen Edokpayi ,Amawoh Felix, Nwokpu Junior, Rebecca Godstime ‘m’

Penpushing further reports that, the command said in another development, on October 26 while the situation was subsiding, some unscrupulous elements in Jattu, Edo State were hobnobbing on how to break into the Town Hall, adding that they were however arrested by some vigilantes and policemen of Jattu Police Division before any damage could be done.

The command gave the suspects identities as Kingsley Adoko, Esther Julius, Adams Shaka,Audu Mustafa, Divine Mackson, Michael Aigbedion, Franca Samuel and Peter John (alias Atorodo),adding that on October 27 at Oliha Market Junction, Benin City, two suspected armed robbers named Michael Peter  and OZ Esi were arrested by officers of the Nigerian Army, attached to 4 Brigade Headquarters, Benin City for allegedly attempting to snatch a Honda Civic Car with registration number AA-261-AY from one Mr. John Destiny of number 40 Agbonlahor Street, Aduwawa Benin City.

Penpushing reports that, part of the suspects arrested are four hoodlums; Charles Okoeguale, Ojo Osamiemwenfan Igbinoba,  Gift Osayiwu  and Osasumwen Imanawe  who were seen with police rifles, uniforms and other accoutrements carted away by hoodlums who invaded the several police stations during  protest.

The command said exhibits recovered include; five AK 47 rifles,two locally made exhibit guns ,one locally made gun, one Lexus 330 SUV with registration number KWL-205-AZ,one Toyota Camry Saloon car with registration number LSD-231-GD,two bags of 50kg and one 25kg of rice and twenty four creates of assorted drinks


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button